In January 2012, Governor Brownback announced a plan to enhance career technical education in Kansas and better prepare high school students for college and careers. The legislature responded with Senate Bill 155 which provides new state dollars to pay college tuition for high school students earning college credits in technical courses and at the same time, earn an industry credential valued by employers.

This initiative offers free college tuition for all approved technical courses within public community and technical colleges, including Pratt Online, EduKan, as well as traditional on-campus and concurrent courses.

CTE (Career and Technical Education) refers to courses within the College Start program that are of a technical nature. These courses are available to all high school students at no cost until they complete their high school education. Starting with the semester following their high school graduation, these courses are no longer provided free of charge.

Pratt Community College is committed to providing onsite (at the high school and college campus) and online (Pratt Online and EduKan) CTE courses to high school students throughout south central Kansas. Students in these classes may be required to pay special fees associated with the course, i.e. CNA courses, tools, uniforms, etc. 

A list of approved courses can be found at excel-cte-courses-2023-24-1925.pdf (

Career Technical Education (CTE) Program Charts

Accounting and Business CTE
Agricultural Power Technology Pathway
Allied Health Pathway
Automotive Technology Certification
Farm & Ranch Certificate
Information Network Technology Pathway
Welding Technology Certificate

High School Electrical Power Technology (EPT Program)