PTK students honored at 2020 Kansas Academic Team luncheon

19 March 2020

Two Pratt Community College students joined their peers when Kansas saluted the community college scholars for their academic accomplishments March 12 in Topeka, Kan. Representing the state's 19 community colleges, a private college, and a technical college, these scholars were named to the 2020 All-Kansas Academic Team.
The event was sponsored by the international headquarters of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, the Kansas Association of Community College Trustees and the Kansas Council of Community College Presidents.
Faculty member, Trisha Jackson sponsors PCC's PTK chapter. The two student award recipients are Victoria Addington and Mason Eck.
"It was an honor to be able to represent PCC at the luncheon. I was also proud to represent the professors and faculty in Pratt that have worked hard to help teach us and provide us with these great opportunities while encouraging us along the way," said Addington. "The luncheon was a great experience overall and gave me a chance to meet other exceptional students and advisors. My favorite part of the luncheon was being able to speak to Kansas representatives and important leaders in our education system."

Those in attendance included the scholars, members of their families, PTK chapter sponsors, community college administrators and trustees, university representatives, legislators, and members of the Kansas Board of Regents staff.
Eck, who is a sophomore, also says the experience was an absolute honor.
"It was an honor to achieve the title of All-Kansas Academic Team Member, and represent my teachers who have invested in me as a person and pushed me in my education as well as being a constant source of positivity and motivation. The luncheon was a one of a kind experience that I won't soon forget, it gave me a chance to look back on all the hard work I've put in, and remember the people who have helped me achieve my goals," said Eck. "My favorite part of the luncheon was being able to share the moments with mentors, officials from my college, state leaders, and my fellow All Kansas Scholar from PCC, a close friend. Overall, it was a wonderful experience that I am proud to have been a part of."
Phi Theta Kappa is the honor society for students attending community and two-year colleges. Membership is based on grade point averages and other criteria, with members focusing on scholastic achievement and service to community and campus. The student scholars are part of a statewide student body of more than 123,000 students enrolled at the 19 Kansas community colleges.
Each scholar was selected by his or her community college for the annual statewide academic team, and was presented with a medallion, certificate, and scholarship awards from the Presidents' and Trustees' organizations at the luncheon. Each scholar is also a nominee for the 2020 All-USA Academic Team, sponsored by the newspaper USA Today, Phi Theta Kappa, and the American Association of Community Colleges. First team members will receive a $2,500 stipend and will be featured along with second and third team members in USA Today. Names of the students will be placed on the Society's website,


89716216_10212387395998571_734335297608744960_n.jpg        89603958_10212387396158575_2353439604859731968_n.jpg