• Go Beavers!!!

PTK students honored in Topeka

20 February 2017

On Feb. 16, two Pratt Community College students were honored in Topeka at the 22 Annual Kansas All-State Academic Team luncheon and awards ceremony as members of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society.

PTK Chapter President Megan Poole and PTK member Arica Alexander were named by PCC’s chapter as their representatives on the 2017 Kansas All-State Academic Team. Poole is a Sophomore Science/Pre-Veterinarian student as well as a women's basketball player, tutor, agriculture work study and student admissions representative. Alexander is a Sophomore studying Elementary Education. She also is active in performing arts and the PCC Encore! musical group.

The All-State Academic Team is a distinguished group of scholars from community colleges across the state who are selected for their academic achievements and contributions to their college and community. Poole and Alexander, along with the other 50 academic team members, were introduced on the floor of the House of Representatives and honored at a luncheon attended by state legislators and community college trustees and administrators.

Michael Calvert, president, Lisa Perez Miller, vice president of students and enrollment management, Michael Fitzpatrick, vice president of instruction, Misty Beck, performing arts instructor, Alyssa Rushton, assitant women's basketball coach and board member, Dwane DeWeese, were also in attendance.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Miss., is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,280 chapters on college campuses around the world.
The event held each year is co-sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa and the Kansas Association of Community College Trustees. ⠀

Alexander and Pool with KS State Senator, Mary Jo Taylor

Beck, Fitzpatrick, Alexander, Poole, Rushton and Calvert