• Go Beavers!!!

PCC Receives 2010 Honor Roll Award

07 June 2011

Pratt Community College was among six other Kansas Campus Compact member campuses to be named to the 2010 President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll.

PCC received this honor for its active role of participating in community service. PCC's students, faculty and staff have volunteered their time through various community service projects. In 2010, it is estimated that 550 PCC students took part in performing 16,000 community service hours. Some of the projects PCC students and employees participated in include: home maintenance for seniors; sports clinics; help for local business; park maintenance; golf tournaments; judging; cultural events; holiday programs and events; Relay for Life Team; The Southwest Little Buddy Program; and Big Brothers, Big Sisters.

"We are both excited and pleased to be recognized by the President and by the State for the community services performed by our students and our employees," said William Wojciechowski, PCC President. "Community and student service is a major part of our culture here at PCC. Our employees and our students recognize the commitment the community makes in supporting the college. The 16,000 plus hours of community service is testimony of our gratitude and recognition for that support."

The Honor Roll was created in 2006, recognizing colleges and universities across the nation for exemplary, innovative and effective community service programs. The Corporation for National and Community Service oversees the Honor Roll in collaboration with the Department of Education, Department of Housing and Urban Development, Campus Compact, and the American Council on Education. Honorees are chosen based on a series of selection factors including scope and innovation of service projects, percentage of student participation in service activities, incentives for service, and the extent to which the school offers academic service-learning courses.

This year a total of 641 colleges and universities were recognized for their impact on issues from literacy and neighborhood revitalization to supporting at-risk youth. Of that total, 511 were named to the Honor Roll, 114 received the recognition of Honor Roll with distinction, 11 were identified as finalists, and six received the Presidential Award. Other Kansas recipients include: McPherson College, Bethel College, MidAmerica Nazarene University, Newman University, Southwestern College and University of Kansas.