• Go Beavers!!!

PTK students honored at Kansas Academic Team luncheon

19 February 2018

Two Pratt Community College students joined 54 of their peers when Kansas saluted the 57 community college scholars for their academic accomplishments February 15 in Topeka during the Twenty-Third Annual Kansas All-State Academic Team Luncheon. Representing the state's 19 community colleges, a private college, and a technical college, these scholars were named to the 2018 All-Kansas Academic Team, sponsored by the international headquarters of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society, the Kansas Association of Community College Trustees, and the Kansas Council of Community College Presidents.

PCC’s PTK chapter is sponsored by faculty member, Trisha Jackson. The two student award recipients are Natalie Holguin and Kassidy Weaver.

“I was honored to be chosen to help represent PCC. It was a unique and wonderful experience, as I got to meet important people and celebrate my success along with other students' success,” said Weaver. “It was definitely different, as I'm not used to the fancy atmosphere. It was a memorable experience and I'm glad I was able to be a part of it.”

The Luncheon was held at the Ramada Inn Hotel in Topeka. Those in attendance included the scholars, members of their families, PTK chapter sponsors, community college administrators and trustees, university representatives, legislators, and members of the Kansas Board of Regents staff. They heard from Dr. Liang Chi Wee, President of Northeast Iowa Community College, who shared his history as an immigrant from Shanghai.

Michael Calvert, president, Lisa Perez Miller, vice president of students and enrollment management, Carol Ricke, faculty member, and Board of Trustees Darrell Shumway, Dwane DeWeese and Michelle Hamm were also in attendance.

Natalie Holguin is an Agribusiness major at PCC. She is currently involved with PTK and serves as the Kappa Beta Delta president. She is also known as a community volunteer and her 4.0 GPA has landed her on the President’s Honor Roll.

Kassidy Weaver is a Pre-Veterinary major. She is currently involved with PTK, Block and Bridle, and currently serves as a rodeo manager. Along with working as a work study, she also volunteers at the Humane Society. Her 4.0 GPA has also earned her position on the President’s Honor Roll.

Phi Theta Kappa is the honor society for students attending community and two-year colleges. Membership is based on high grade point averages and other criteria, with members focusing on scholastic achievement and service to community and campus. These 57 student scholars are part of a statewide student body of more than 123,000 students enrolled at the 19 Kansas community colleges.

Each scholar was selected by his or her own community college for the annual statewide academic team, and was presented with a medallion, certificate, and scholarship awards from the Presidents’ and Trustees’ organizations at the Luncheon. Each scholar also is a nominee for the 2018 All-USA Academic Team, sponsored by the newspaper USA Today, Phi Theta Kappa, and the American Association of Community Colleges. First team members will receive a $2,500 stipend and will be featured along with second and third team members in USA Today. Names of the students will be placed on the Society's website, www.ptk.org.

Holguin and Weaver with KS State Senator, Mary Jo Taylor (center)
Holguin (left) and Weaver (right) with KS State Senator, Mary Jo Taylor (center)

Calvert, Weaver, Ricke, Holguin, and Jackson
Calvert, Weaver, Ricke, Holguin, and Jackson