• Go Beavers!!!

PCC Administrator Selected as HLC Peer Reviewer

01 October 2014

Lisa Perez Miller, Vice President of Students/Enrollment Management at Pratt Community College has been accepted to serve the Higher Learning Commission as a new member of its Peer Corps. Miller is the first representative from PCC to serve in this position.

The Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools oversees the accreditation of degree-granting colleges and universities in 19 Midwestern and South-Central states, including Kansas.

The Commission relies upon the work of peer reviewers for its accrediting activities. These volunteers generously share their knowledge and experience to assure and advance institutional quality. The Commission maintains a Peer Review Corps of approximately 1,500 faculty and administrators from institutions within the North Central region.
Peer Reviewers evaluate member institutions for adherence to the Commission’s Criteria for Accreditation. In addition, they offer consultative feedback that contributes to the quality of an institution’s processes and academic offerings.

Peer Reviewers must have at least five years of experience in higher education, a master’s degree or other appropriate terminal degree, and be currently employed by or recently retired from an institution accredited by the Higher Learning Commission

Peer review entails bringing judgment based on experience and knowledge to the evaluation process. In all evaluation processes, judgment, reason, and the documentation of evidence contribute to effective peer review. Effective judgment of the Criteria for Accreditation requires that any evaluation be informed significantly by the context of the institution being evaluated and its mission. The review process requires examination of submitted materials, participation in an evaluation (on ground or online) and report writing.

Miller will participate in a New Peer Corps member’s comprehensive training sessions on Oct. 1 - 3 at the Q Center in St. Charles, Ill.